The Initial Conducted Energy Device (CED) Course is for currently sworn New York law enforcement officers. It is designed to provide the students with the knowledge and skills required to safely and effectively deploy a CED (aka TASER). It begins with an overview of CED technology and then progresses to pre-deployment, deployment, and post-deployment considerations of conducted energy devices.
Cost: MAKE PAYMENT HERE after registering below.
- Initial 7hr CED with 11hr A35 $225 or $230 with credit card
- Initial 7hr CED $140 or $145 with credit card
Equipment Requirements: Any brand CED, mounted holster, and two (2) cartridges. You can purchase CED items here.
Prerequisites: MUST be a currently sworn New York State law enforcement officer. If you have recently completed seven-hours of DCJS/MPTC Article 35 training you must submit proof to be exempted from day one. If you have not completed A35 you will need to attend the day two of this training.
The use of conducted energy devices (CED) in law enforcement has increased
dramatically over the last few years. Thousands of law enforcement agencies have
either begun conducted energy device deployment or have plans to deploy conducted
energy devices with their officers in the very near future. All officers who carry CEDs
need to demonstrate they understand CED agency policy and procedures related to its
use, as well as demonstrate handling and deployment proficiency. This, of course,
requires that officers be trained in the operation and application of conducted energy
Students participating in the training will be required to demonstrate
understanding of their agency’s CED policy to the instructor, particularly where
deployment of conducted energy devices is appropriate, and equally important, where
not appropriate. Students will also be required to demonstrate their knowledge of CEDs
by completing a written and practical exam.
The conducted energy device course is not intended to be the ultimate in training,
but provide officers with a basic foundation and awareness of the advantages,
disadvantages and limitations that exist when using the device. Upon completion of the
course, students will have an understanding of the basic principles of CED operation
and the knowledge and skills necessary to safely deploy a CED within agency
TERMS AND CONDITIONS AND IMPORTANT INFORMATION:
- Payment: After signing up for the course above, please visit our PAYMENT PAGE to review the payment terms and make a payment.
Attendance: Seven-hours of Article 35 training and eight-and-a-half-hours of CED training is required to be certified. Students must attend all hours of the training in order to successfully complete the training and be issued a certificate.
Exemptions: If you have completed the seven-hour (7) Article 35 training within the past year you may be exempted from that portion of the course if you provide proper proof of training to the instructor prior to the course date.
- Exposure: You are NOT required to be exposed to the voltage of a CED but it is HIGHLY encouraged so that you know, first hand, the level of force you may be inflicting on someone if you must deploy your CED. Exposure will also help if you are called into court after using a CED on someone.
Curriculum: All curriculum and standards-of-training are set forth by the Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS), Municipal Police Training Council (MPTC).